ZFS Basics: "Symmetric" Data/Backup setup

Masch

Cadet
Hello all!

I am new to TrueNAS and ZFS and spend quite some time the last days reading up on the technicalities.
This forum and the TrueNAS documentation have been tremendously helpful in that!
I think I have a decent basic understanding of ZFS now, however not to the extent that I could give a definite answer to my question (which is more a ZFS than a TrueNAS question):

A friend and I are planning on each setting up a TrueNAS server, let's call them A and B.
We are talking about homeservers here, so rather small but properly build (server MOBO, ECC RAM,...).
Let's say, we have 6 HDDs in both A and B.
We are not expecting a lot of action on these servers, maybe 2 people using fileshare, something syncy (Nextcloud, Syncthing, ...), maybe git.
(Dataintegrety > performance.)

Now the idea is to use each other's NAS as a backup, so B to backup A and A to backup B.
Let's say backup is performed via zfs snapshots and replication (though I don't think it matters).
I'm pretty sure that this would be no problem at all if both A and B have two zpools, one for data and one for the other's backup (at least I can't think of a reason why that would be bad).

However, as said, there both homeservers and only equipped with a comparably small number of HDDs.
I dislike the idea of running 2 zpools with 2+1 raidz1 on both machines.
I'd much rather run one zpool using 4+2 raidz2 or even 3+3 raid3 as it's much more fault tolerant.
(Ok a compromise would be 3+2 Raidz2 for the data pool and 1 plain vdev for the backup pool. Doesn't feel good without parity on the backup pool).

So my question is, if both A and B each have one zpool with e.g. 4+2 Raidz2 or 3+3 Raidz3 and a structure something like this (ignoring possible subdatasets):

on machine A:
Code:
- tank_a (zpool)
   |- data_a (dataset)
   |- backup_b (dataset)

on machine B:
Code:
 - tank_b (zpool)
   |- data_b (dataset)
   |- backup_a (dataset)