VM's created inside TrueNAS Core can't reach internet

brennoflavio

Cadet
So, I've been researching this issue for many hours now without any conclusions. VM's created inside TrueNAS Core can't reach network. They can't ping the host, other private IP's in the network, or the internet.

I'm fairly new to TrueNAS, so I don't exactly know how to debug this. I tried to create a bridge network without success. Is there any guides or general tips on how to setup and debug this kind of issue?

Attachments

• 2022-05-22_21-23_1.png
    2022-05-22_21-23_1.png
    81.7 KB · Views: 389
  • 2022-05-22_21-23.png
    2022-05-22_21-23.png
    15.4 KB · Views: 412

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Hmmm.... you're answering a question about CORE with a link to the SCALE doc.

I agree the solution is likely very similar, but isn't in the "FM" in this case.

brennoflavio

Cadet
Hey, thanks for the responses. I haven't tried that because it was inside the Scale docs, so I assumed that will not be the correct one for my use case.

I've tried many Network configurations, combining Bridge, Physical and VLAN interfaces, and in none of them seems to work. Notice that TrueNAS itself and its services (Jails for example) can reach internet, its just the VM's that can't connect.

In the attachments I'm uploading my current configuration. As I said, FreeBSD is new to me (I've been working with Linux systems for many years now but first time with TrueNAS), and I could not find in the docs how the Network configuration should look like to allow networking in VM's.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 2022-05-23_13-03.png
    2022-05-23_13-03.png
    20.2 KB · Views: 350
  • 2022-05-23_13-02.png
    2022-05-23_13-02.png
    200.4 KB · Views: 248
  • 2022-05-23_13-01.png
    2022-05-23_13-01.png
    507.3 KB · Views: 350

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
Are all of these Linux VMs? Did you install them from scratch using a bootable ISO image? Did you remove the virtual CD device after installation?