Type of Volume for backup?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Booyaah

Dabbler
I'm new to freenas and just built a new machine, anyways I have 4 disks (6 TB each) in a RAID 10 volume right now and I wanted to setup a nightly backup on my 5th disk (also 6 TB) right now. Eventually I'll add a 2nd disk to the backup volume when I get closer to 50% of total disk space usage on the RAID 10 volume, but for now I'm just sticking with a single WD Green.

Anyways my question is when I create a new volume for the backup, the only real option I have is for Stripe (yes I see log/cache as well but those aren't what I want). When I eventually add a 2nd disk to extend my backup volume, is that going to put it in a RAID0 configuration? Because I don't really want to use any RAID for my backup...JBOD would be fine, but I don't care about extra speed from RAID or want to have to risk a failure due to parity bits or what not.

I was thinking, would it be best just to destroy the existing 1 disk backup volume when I get a 2nd disk, then re-create a new 2 disk volume, and then do a full backup to the new backup volume, and just pray I don't get a disk failure? I am using an IBM ServeRaid M1015 card in IT mode, would it just be best to JBOD the backup drives only maybe through the HBA? (not even sure that's possible in IT mode)

Cause I don't see any kind of option like that in the FreeNAS gui, is there a command line option for it?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
You're all over the place.

Are you using anything other than ZFS to do what you called RAID10? If so stop right there. Destroy that and make a proper pool, first by adding the two striped disks and then adding a mirror to each one of them.

However, why would you want striped mirrors instead of RAIDZ2? I'll venture a guess that speed is not your primary concern. In that case, RAIDz2 is much, much better than RAID10-like solutions.