TrueNAS Scale Error nslcd.service

Nthrash

Cadet
TrueNAS Debian Error

Restart Problem

Hello, I have been using truenas scale for about a week and core for just over a couple years. Recently I had upgraded through truenas core gui to truenas scale on some 4th gen intel hardware from an older computer of mine. Everything was running fine until I restarted my truenas through the gui power button and when restarting, I was unable to get the os to boot.

Hooking up an external monitor, I was shown a “Failed to start nslcd.service - LSB: LDAP connection daemon.” With further digging, I found “nslcd.service: failed with result ‘exit-code” and “nslcd: no URIs defined in config”. Despite re-installing the TrueNAS os onto the boot drive and trying on another drive, it still fires these same errors.

I’ll be honest I know very little about this kind of stuff as I work in healthcare, but was hoping someone may know a little more about this error. With some basic internet searches I haven’t seemed to find much.

I can provide some photos of screen if that helps at all with troubleshooting.

Thank you again.

TL;DR: truenas restart resulting in error codes and not posting the OS.

Hardware:
i54670k cpu @3.4ghz
32gb ddr3 non ecc 1600mhz ram
z87-g45 Msi motherboard
120gb Kingston ssd
2 x 4tb sea gate iron wolf 4tb has drives
TrueNAS scale 22.12.3.3

Attachments

• IMG_5312.jpeg
    IMG_5312.jpeg
    294.9 KB · Views: 168
  • IMG_5311.jpeg
    IMG_5311.jpeg
    267.7 KB · Views: 169

bigrigwill79

Cadet
I too have run into this same error. Clean install of TrueNAS Scale. When booting into the OS I get the nsl.service failed to start. I'm looking into it a bit more now. Not that I am any linux master. The only thing different is I had to change Motherboard processor and ram. Upon doing so everything is crashing when I have file transfers going. I watch my Ram swap file spike to 20Gigs then about 10-15 seconds later the system forces the system to reboot.

Hardware:
I9-12900K