SFF-8087 and SFF-8643 - Confused!

Status
Not open for further replies.

twseal77

Cadet
I need some help.

I'm looking to build a new server and I've never used SAS before and I'm a little confused about backplanes and connecting them.

Both mother boards I'm looking at have 2 SFF-8643 connections that state they support up to 16 HDD's. I'm looking at cases with 16 hot swap bays. In most rack mount cases I see have 4 8087 connection.

I know that standard SFF-8087 only supports 4 lanes on a single connector. SFF-8643 supports 4 or 8 according to everything i've read, including Wikipedia reference (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_Attached_SCSI) 0n a single connector.

The problem is, if SFF-8643 supports up to 8 on a single cable or 16 on two, then why would I need to connect to 4 ports on the case backplane. Can I connect to two and achieve the same results, or do I have to use all 4.

I guess I just don't understand why an HBA with two 8643 can support 16 HDD's with two connectors would need 4 connectors on the other end.... which would require a second HBA that also supports 16. Then I would have 2 HBA's supporting 32 HDD's just to be able to connect to 16 drives. Is the real issue here just simply having a case with a backplane that has a build in expander?

Am I getting the number of HDD's it supports logically and the number of HDD's the cable supports physically without an expander confused? (I.e. the card can handle 16 HDD's using two 8633 connectors as long as I have an expander. Or it is limited to 8 total HDD's for two connections (4 for each cable) without an expander?)