SOLVED Removed vdev Log drive - Now shows incorrect (smaller) size in BIOS

Randy...

Cadet
I'm new to TrueNAS and Linux/Debian in general. My Drobo died a while back, so I've been playing with TrueNAS since the 12.0 U1 release came out.

As I was playing around with my first TrueNAS build, I created a RAID-z2 pool with 5x 5TB data drives and a spare 4TB VDEV ZFS LOG drive (since I could not add it as a data drive in the z2 pool, and it was already physically installed in the system - I just had to use it for something!). It worked, but I decided to start over on a new faster MoBo/CPU/RAM w/o the additional 4TB VDEV ZFS LOG drive - and removed the 4TB drive from the build. The new build is working very well!

Now, when I place that 4TB WD Black drive in any computer, BIOS shows it as approx. 7.5GB. I've tried most methods of clearing the partition table (cmd diskpart / gparted boot disk / WD Data Lifeguard erase function). The 4TB drive continues to be reported as a 7.5GB drive at the BIOS level and from any software I use to see it (including GRC's Spinrite).

I've searched to the best of my ability, but I cannot seem to figure out how to resolve this issue - especially seeing as the issue seems to be at the low-level drive controller domain (not a partition table/MBR/GPT/ZFS type issue). The drive worked fine before I tried to use it as a TrueNAS LOG drive...

Thanks for throwing me any pointers :)
Randy V.

Randy...

Cadet
Bumping this for any pointers. I thought I was on the right track with trying to delete the partition table - but that doesn't seem to resolve the issue.

TLDR - Removed a 4TB WD Black drive that was momentarily used as a vdev ZFS log drive - now it shows as a 7.5GB drive in any other system...

Grazie!
Randy V.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Did you by chance configure overprovisioning of the log drive in TrueNAS? The way that works is it alters the firmware of the drive to report less usable capacity to the controller.