Q. about setting up basic structures

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bohs Hansen

I got a couple questions about how I set up the user and share structure, the webUI isn't so advanced yet, so I'm unclear.

Disk setup - Volume: jcube1 , Path: /mnt/jcube1 , ~6tb (4*2tb)

So, what I try to accomplish is having multiple shares: Media, Software, Upload, Private.
and user groups: family, friends, etc.

So I tried to just make these folders inside the volume path, but I can't seem to figure out how to assign rights etc.

I want to give read rights to all but my private folder to my friends and family, write rights to the upload folder and only give my own user account access to the private folder.

I come from a QNAP system, and there I could just create the shares in the GUI and assign rights to groups and users for each.

Any advice?

B

Bohs Hansen

Is it really this simple? Gotta say I'm new to this whole ZFS system, so might be why I was confused.

What I previously knew as shares is just "ZFS Datasets" now? So if I get this right, I can just create my "Media", "Software" etc by creating a Dataset and name them accordingly each, then assign a group - and that is it. Or did I wander in the wrong direction?

And to that, do I understand it right that if I leave all the quota fields at zero it just takes what space is left on the original raidz?

thanks for bearing over with me, still learning, but getting better :)

whistlepigger

Dabbler
You're on the right track. You still have to share the datasets (using windows or linux shares) - but those shares point to the datasets. If you leave the quota fields at 0, no quota is enforced.

B

Bohs Hansen

Ran into a new problem with this ..

My volume setup: FNAS_Volumes.PNG

Now I figured, I just make a group for each folder and add the people to that group that shall have access to it. So far so good.
But I got another group of people who need different rights for the same path, how can i archive that?

B