SOLVED Picking Storage Drives

spiceygas

Explorer
I'm looking for input on my first FreeNAS build. I've got experience with traditional RAID, but this is my first time on ZFS.

Usage
  • Primary Use: Media storage (i.e. Data at rest. More reads than writes)
    • 1-5 users
  • Secondary use: 2-5 VMs
    • 1 user
  • Goals: Maximize storage, reasonable rebuild time in event of drive failure.
System
  • 2x Xeon 2680v3
  • 128 gigs RAM
  • 10 gb copper LAN
    • Clients are limited to 1 gb
    • Internet bandwidth is limited to 300 mb
  • Case that can handle 36 hotswap drives
  • Separate UPS
Proposed storage
  • OS Install
    • SATA DOM
  • ZFS Pool 1 (For bulk storage)
    • VDev 1 - RAIDZ2
      • 5x 14 TB Drives
    • VDev 2 - RAIDZ2
      • 5x 14 TB Drives
  • ZFS Pool 2 (For VMs)
    • VDev 1 - MIRROR
      • 2x SATA SSDs (Probably 1 TB each)
Rationale
  1. In case of drive failure and rebuild, each VDev in Pool1 is isolated, reducing the time needed to re-silver.
  2. Two drive redundancy in data is sufficient for my home media usage. Each VDev is 42TB (14 x 3) unformatted storage.
  3. Adding another VDev to Pool 1 for future growth will be easy.
  4. No dedicated SLOG. I anticipate it to be unnecessary given my light workload, but can add it on later.
  5. 128 GB RAM seems sufficient given light workload, but the mobo has plenty of room to expand if necessary.
Thoughts? Am I making any poor assumptions?

Questions
  1. Is more drives per VDev appropriate? What's the general tolerance towards number of drives in RAIDZ2, and balancing resilver time against desire to minimize space "wasted" (invested?) on redundancy?
  2. Do folks agree that an SLOG is likely unnecessary in this build?

Last edited:

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
This is a reasonable layout.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Is more drives per VDev appropriate?