New to FreeNAS, weird behavior on iometer testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZFS Noob

Contributor
I'm new to ZFS and FreeNAS, but I like what I've learned over the last week, and I got a test build up on a server for testing.

Server Details
  • Dual Xeon processors
  • 72G RAM
  • 4x 2TB ES.3 SAS drives as a striped mirror/RAID10/RAID1+0/whatever the ZFS terminology is for 2 mirrored vdevs sitting in a pool together.
  • 4 Gig-E ports, though only one is used for testing.
The Test
The goal up-front is to benchmark how many IOPS this server/software can manage, and I wanted to do that in three parts:
  • Asynchronously
  • Synchronously with no SLOG
  • Synchronously again, with the SSD SLOG in place.
My expectation is that synch SLOG is going to be near async, but not as performant, which is fine. I run virtual machines which include MySQL servers, and I'm much more concerned with transactions than I am with throughput.
So my test now is IOMETER, 10 workers, running all tests for 5 hours, against a 10 gig data set. The data is hosted on an iSCSI share that my laptop mounted, and my laptop's single GigE connection is plugged into an old 24 port Netgear unmanaged switch I pulled off the shelf to use for the test. I think the switch is good, but I threw out its sister as it was getting iffy after running for a few days.
The Behavior
Async was fast, though apparently I don't know how to read IOMeter results. Overall average IOPS were 6,121, though it also listed 15,367 transactions per second which is weird. I thought IOPS were ~= TPS. Average response time was around 1.5 ms.
Awesome.
Except I looked at the pretty graphs in FreeNAS and saw this:
freenas1.gif

Lots and lots of gaps in the performance data. I don't know why they're showing up, and that concerns me. Off the top of my head it could be:
  • ZFS is poorly tuned and I'm running into that issue where queued writes get backlogged and things grind to a halt until things catch up.