Need sanity check for my first FreeNAS setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

coulix

Dabbler
Hello there,

I am here to share my first FreeNAS setup and get some feedback on what I may be doing wrong.
I am a dev by trade with some affinities with hardware, currently the tech lead of a 30 people company.

This startup happens to be in social media, more specifically video production. I started with a 15 TB Synology NAS that reached the 90% capacity in 6 months. It is time to scale up.

Being a hardware enthusiast I went on building my own NAS case with (pause a second) non-enterprise hardware.

Basically an AM4 motherboard with a Ryzen 1700x, 32 GB of ram (EEC), 8 x 10TB, 1 SSD (used a pcie card to add +4 sata to the existing 8) and a 10 Gbe network card.

Storage volume is ZFS2 pool.

Regarding our usage, people will work on a video for a week, doing video editing from the NAS and then once published, the edited video, adobe premier project, raw videos import stays there untouched, archived.

Should I use two volumes, one 2TB volume (Raid 0?) with performance in mind and the rest of the drives in ZFS2?

Any other tips ?

Last edited by a moderator:

tvsjr

Guru
First, I'd suggest reading up on the basics of ZFS. It's not ZFS2... it's RAID-Z2. As far as your pool configuration, it all depends on your performance requirements. One or two 720p videos being edited at once is entirely different from a dozen 8K videos being edited simultaneously. I would set it up and do some testing starting with an 8-disk RAID-Z2 array, see if you get the performance you need.

coulix

Dabbler
Sorry, bad etymology, I meant RAID-Z2 indeed.

Regarding videos, lets say, at max, by the end of the year 15 people editing 1080p @60fps plus a few 60 GB file transfer.

tvsjr

Guru