SOLVED Need help to Copy files from NTFS drives to ZFS drives using CLI commands?

Status
Not open for further replies.

new2freenas

Dabbler
Hello all,

First things first: I’m a newbie to both Linux and Unix/FreeBSD…so my knowledge, exposure and experience to both of those OS’s are at the infancy stages. Please be gentle, where and if possible.

Okay, with that out of the way…here’s the thing:

Using the web GUI (on a Windows machine) I’ve been trying (for the past few days) to copy files over from my NTFS formatted drives to the ZFS formatted drives…but I keep having network issues/losses (when trying to copy even just 2 or 3 folders at a time).

I thought maybe this issue wouldn’t arise if I use the CLI instead, but since I’m a newbie in this area, I have no idea how to do this, and therefore I reach out for help. I’ve done some searches, but what I’ve found doesn’t seem to help me much (because it’s a bit more advanced, and doesn’t contain a scenario such as mine).

So, using the following picture (of my Disks, as setup in FreeNAS GUI) , I’ll try to explain my scenario below the picture:

v3hhn7.jpg

1. The first 3 entries are for disks which are physically installed “inside” the case. The last entry is a 500 GB pocket USB drive, which is connected via a USB cable.

2. The first and last entries (where Status shows as “UNKNOWN”) are both NTFS drives, whereas the 2 middle entries are for ZFS drives (Status=”HEALTHY”).

3. The disk that’s listed first (NTFS, with Volume Name=”ada3s1”) contains a few movies which I would like to (temporarily) copy to the disk that’s listed third (ZFS, with Volume Name=”ZoneMinderVol”).

4. The disk that’s listed last (NTFS, with Volume Name=”aData500”) contains music (MP3’s) and Pictures (JPG’s) which I would like to copy to the disk that’s listed second (ZFS, with Volume Name=”MusicPicturesVol”)

So, how would I do that i.e. commands to use, and the sequence of commands?