BUILD MSI C236M

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eric Dunn

Cadet
Hello FreeNAS community,

I’ve been doing a lot of reading of the community posts and FreeNAS documentation and have decided to embark upon my second FreeNas Build from scratch (reasons below).

Background

I’m an IT professional of 20 years the last 10 working in managerial positions and have recently started my own consultancy. I dabble in Linux, but mostly I'm a Windows guy (MCSE).

I have had a Home Theatre PC/TV System on my home network for about the last 12 years and about 7 years ago I reused an old HTPC as a NAS (FreeNAS) to store all my movies/tv/photos etc. I increased the drive space to 12TB about 5 years ago after some drive failures and upgraded it to v9 when v9 came out. The old NAS has done very well and I'm very pleased with it's performance.

At the end of last year, I started to use the NAS for storing documents etc. for my new business which changed the importance of security, data integrity, redundancy and backup etc. The old NAS has started having some issues and running very slow so I have decided to build a new NAS, copy all the data to it, and then rebuild/fix the old machine as a backup for the new one.

Proposed hardware

MB 1 x MSI C236M Micro ATX Workstation

CPU 1 x Intel Xeon E3 1220 V5

Memory 2 x KINGSTON KVR21E15D8/8HA, 8GB 2133MHZ DDR4 ECC CL15 DIMM 2RX8 HYNIX A

HDD 4 x 4TB Western Digital RED WD40EFRX 3.5in

SSD 2 x Kingston SSDNow V300 60Gb 2.5in

Case 1 x Fractal Design Node 804 (Black)

PSU 1 x Be Quiet L8 600W

UPS 1 x Eaton 5E

Reasoning

12TB of space with one redundant disk on Z1 with one should be plenty and speed is no great issue as long as I can stream movies over the network.

Xeon CPU, Server Chipset and 16 GB ECC RAM is strongly recommended

This MB supports all the above and has built in graphics

1 SSDs for OS backing up to the second as failover

Case is nice, quiet and cheap

600watt PSU exceeds requirements and “Be Quiet” is … quiet