SOLVED LAGG Interface not working with Netgear GS110TPP Switch

gwaitsi

Patron
Hi, newbie here.

I tried getting LAGG to work from my SuperMicro X11SCL-IF board to a GS110TPP switch, but it doesn't work.
I have LAGG successfully running between two Netgear Switches for the trunk and to a Quadcom 4 Port J1900 running pfsense.

With the Supermicro Board, the LAGG interface shows as Up, but no data appears to pass and ping is not going through in either direction from the switch or the freenas box.

I have tried Load Balancing and LACP but neither works, while the other LAGG setups i have running are successfully connected with LACP

gwaitsi

Patron
the problem with the LAGG is related to the vlan, but i don't know how to fix it.

On the netgear interface, i can tag only the vlan for the LAG interface with the pvid vlan2

How do i config so the LAG interface on freenas so it is attached to vlan2 only.
I am using the IPMI port for the LAN interface. but by configuring the LAGG to the LAN interface it is working.

On the netgear interface, i can tag only the vlan for the LAG interface with the pvid vlan2
Actually I think the PVID is the UNTAGGED VLAN. You can allow or not allow other VLAN's To correlate that to FreeNAS, the untagged VLAN in the switch would need to correspond to the IP address on the LAGG interface in FreeNAS. Any other allowed VLAN's that are used by FreeNAS would but VLAN sub-interfaces of the LAGG.

gwaitsi

Patron
Actually I think the PVID is the UNTAGGED VLAN. You can allow or not allow other VLAN's To correlate that to FreeNAS, the untagged VLAN in the switch would need to correspond to the IP address on the LAGG interface in FreeNAS. Any other allowed VLAN's that are used by FreeNAS would but VLAN sub-interfaces of the LAGG.

i got it working by marking the LAN as Untagged and the VLAN as tagged on the netgear switch.
i restricted the gui to the vlan IP.