Help with default routes for VPN/Plugins

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike6926

Cadet
Hi All,

I'm new to FreeNAS and I'm hoping someone can help me with a little conundrum I'm having.

GOAL:
-(as I've read here with a few people), I'd like to run to setup a VPN service on the box to hide my torrent traffic out to the internet.

WHAT I'VE DONE:
-Using FreeNAS-8.3.0-RELEASE-p1, I've started out installing openvpn within the JAIL. I had some issues with getting the tunnel setup at first.. However the main issue that prevented me from exploring it further was, if i was running the vpn, I wouldn't be able to access the jail for things such as minidlna.

-I have a HP N40L with a Dual NIC card in the system. Having an old DD-WRT router kicking around, I put it on my home network & setup the DD-WRT router to dial into the VPN directly. Therefore any host connecting to this router uses the VPN, any host connecting to my home router will not be going down the VPN.

NIC1-> HOME NETWORK <192.168.2.x>
NIC2-> VPN NETWORK <192.168.1.x>

-As traffic to the internet (from my NAS box) will only be torrent traffic, I want to use a default route through NIC2 to the VPN router. Any traffic destined for the home network through NIC2.

-If I set the default gateway to the home network, I have issues trying to get the internet traffic to go over the VPN (I've confirmed this to be the case with a routetrace).
-If I set the default gateway to the VPN, I will go out through the VPN router, however my JAIL/plugins will not work/respond as the JAIL IP is on the home network
--If at all possible, I'd like to keep the jail on the home network as it would be difficult to get my TV on the VPN network.

-I've tried using a GW of the home network, with a static route of 0.0.0.0/0 to the VPN (unknown traffic fwd to the VPN router).. this doesn't work
-from SSH, if I try to use a ROUTE ADD, it advises there's already a route to the VPN network.

Any thoughts?

Kind Regards,
Mike

mike6926