Hello, Pondering NAS for home network backup

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, Newbie here.

My experience with Linux goes back to MKLinux DR3 - a port of Red Hat 5.2 to the Mach Microkernel running on 32-bit PPC.

Other than a Windows laptop for Photoshop (DSLR) I'm currently running CentOS 7 for everything.

I will soon be building an NAS and I believe ZFS to be the best filesystem for that task. I believe the inclusion of RAID and Logical Volume Management into the filesystem itself has significant benefits over separate software components for the file system, RAID, and LVM.

ZFS can work in CentOS 7 but it looks like the best support is in FreeBSD which makes FreeNAS the logical choice for me. It appears that RHEL engineers don't consider ZFS support to be a goal of theirs, which means kernel updates could break the third party ZFS drivers available for CentOS, which is not acceptable for a backup device.

The primary purpose of the NAS will be for backing up various computers on my home network. There is no secondary purpose, at least not yet. I will not use it for things like multimedia server. I will not use it for files that are used in an application while the NAS is mounted on another computer. I will not use it for a database.

It will just sit there on the network, when a computer needs to do a backup (or restore from a backup), it is there for that purpose.

The board I plan to use :

SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCL-F-O LGA

It looks like a revision of the same board I see referenced in some of the FreeNAS documentation and forum posts as working well. For CPU - Xeon E3 (quad core). For the NAS - six 4TB Red NAS drives.

I plan on using RAIDZ2 which if I ubderstand correctly means I will have 12TB of storage, and two drives worth of redunancy, so it would take 3 drive failures to kill the pool.