SOLVED FreeNAS will not boot: unknown error

Status
Not open for further replies.

KyleBT

Dabbler
Preamble:
I am new to FreeNAS, and this level of geekery in general, I've never been this deep before, and I don't understand most of what I am doing at this point, but I am learning butt loads and I still enjoy it, provided I can make things work out in the end.

The Meat:
I am trying to set up a SOHO file server using FreeNAS 8. I am using an older version because I started from an older tutorial I found online, and also because of the lower RAM requirements of the older version. When I boot up my system it progresses along for about a minute or so, I get the FreeNAS start screen where you can choose to boot into single user more or safe mode, etc. and it starts up the default normal mode, then after a few seconds I get some sort of error and everything just freezes. The last few lines on the screen read as follows:
panic: m_getzone: m_getjcl: invalid cluster type
cpuid=1
KDB: enter: panic
[thread pid 12 tid 100028 ]
Stopped at kdb_enter+0x3b: movq $0,0x777412(%rip)
db>

I have also attached a picture.

I am using an Asus h97i-plus mITX board, Intel Celeron G1840 2.8GHz, 4GB DDR#-1600 RAM, Intel Pro/1000 NIC, and running FreeNAS off a Kingston 8GB USB stick. I know these aren't the prefered hardware parts, and reminding me of that is less than helpful, that's what I have now and I'm trying to work with it if possible. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_20150205_140734302.jpg
    IMG_20150205_140734302.jpg
    307.6 KB · Views: 306

gpsguy

Even ZFS on FreeNAS 8.x required more than 4GB RAM.

If you want to use that hardware, visit NAS4Free (www.nas4free.org). FreeNAS 0.7 (which many of the old tutorials referenced), became NAS4Free. FreeNAS 8/9 is a different project.

KyleBT

Dabbler