FreeNAS iSCSI VM Datastore (ProxMox)

Status
Not open for further replies.

qwertymodo

Contributor
I've been running FreeNAS for a few years now, and over the years, it has slowly taken on more and more "general purpose" functions, and after spending some time in Reddit's /r/homelab section, I decided it was time to upgrade my setup to a proper VM host, and return my NAS to it's primary purpose as a NAS. I managed to pick up a used Dell R710 without disks for far cheaper than I expected, and then reality hit me and brought me back to this point in my FreeNAS build years ago when I realized how much the disks were going to account for the cost of the build. But then, I realized, I *still have the NAS* and I could just use it as my primary VM datastore. However, this is a pretty significant paradigm shift to every other build I've ever done, so I wanted to ask questions before diving headlong into completely unknown waters.

My NAS:
ASRock C2750d4i (yes, I'm aware of AVR54, and have already had one board die on me, but for now, this is what I have)
32GB RAM
Boot: 2x8GB Kingspec SLC SATA DOMs, mirrored
Data: 6x2TB WD Red, RAIDZ2
2xGbe NICs (on-board)
FreeNAS 9.10, up-to-date

My VM Host:
Dell R710
Dual Xeon L5638 2.4GHz hex-core
48GB (6x8GB) RAM
PERC H700 RAID card
Boot: 2x500GB WD Blue, RAID1 (temporary, they were all I had on hand, definitely going to replace them when I get the chance)
4xGbe NICs
ProxMox VE 4.4

Router: Mikrotik/Routerboard RB3011UiAS-RM
Switch: Linksys SRW2024 24-port Gigabit