FreeNAS build for small NGO

Status
Not open for further replies.

hedwig

Cadet
Hi!
I would be happy to have your opinion on a planned FreeNAS build. This will be my first FreeNAS build, but I have some years experience as a sysadmin.

This is the starting position:
I'm working for a small NGO in Germany. They have an office with about 10 employees.
Most computers are running Linux. Home directories (personal files) and organization data are stored on a Linux Server, about 2TB, slowly increasing.
User Authentication is done using an LDAP Server on the same box.
The Server is about 10 years old, I think, as are the two Hitachi disks in Raid1 and it's all consumer grade hardware.
Data is still alive, but one of the two disks is showing some minor SMART errors.
(At least there are incremental daily backups)

Budget:
So this year I got a budget of 2000€ (about $2400) for a new server.

Focus:
I think the focus should be on reliability and data safety, as we cannot work if the server goes down.
Low noise and low power consumption would be nice, but are secondary aims.
We have a server rack with a UPS and a pfSense router in an extra room.

Planned Functions:
- The new server should hold all the shared data and the home directories (2 TB and rising).
- Samba sharing (there are 2 Windows boxes)
- daily snapshots (maybe 1 year into the past)
- remote backup to the cloud
- remote sync to second office over vpn
- Authentication server (FreeIPA in docker container)
- Web server for office documentation (mediawiki in docker)
- Saltstack Server for auto config of office computers (in docker)
- Maybe owncloud/nextcloud server (in docker)
- RAIDZ2
- hopefully another 10 years of service

Planned Build:
Chassis: Supermicro SuperChassis 825TQ-R720LPB --> 528,15€
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSM-F --> 183,59€
CPU: Intel Core i3-6300, 2x 3.80GHz, boxed --> 112,94€
RAM: 2x 16GB Samsung DDR4-2400 ECC DIMM CL17 Single --> 334,64€
Boot: 2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB --> 169,66€