Fix current problems before adding new features!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pellegj

Dabbler
Currently testing out 8.0.1-RC1.
My request is that current problems be fixed before adding new features that might introduce even more problems. I mean, come on, it's a NAS. The most wanted feature must be security for stored data with all the options that comes with that, like monitoring, reporting and ZFS rebuild functions or whatever you wanna call it.
I'm very new to BSD and ZFS, but from what i read doing google searches is that ZFS stores configuration data on the drives, and that FreeNAS dont use this fully. I mean, if the CLI commands for ZFS config is in the system it is darn important to me that any changes done with them also shows up in the GUI even if i cant modify them in the GUI, i still wanna see them there. For example: I created a raidz2 volume with a spare drive, i then created another raidz2 volume and wanted to add the spare to that as well, could not be done from the GUI from what i could see, but with the CLI commands it worked, but it does not show in the GUI. If I'm right (which i might not be) all this is stored on the drives somehow, why the heck not read it from there instead of a separate database or whatever being used.
This is one problem i have come upon myself. I have searched the forum and seen quite alot of problems with v8+.
Also in the GUI add explanations to the different options. I have had trouble finding information the swap partition's and what there used for, in the GUI it just says "Swap size on each drive in GiB, affects new disks only. Setting this to 0 disables swap creation completely (STRONGLY DISCOURAGED)." I tried searching for why it is discouraged but without luck. I now have it set to "0", cause if i set to anything else and a drive fails, the system wont shutdown or reboot.

Sorry for the long post, but this is just a few of the things i come across so far.

marcusmarcus

Explorer