Default Samba settings for a modern network.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Middling

Dabbler
I'd like to preface my post by saying i'm no developer and don't understand half the Samba config options so may be talking out my ass here.

That being said, i'd like to start a discussion about the default Samba options in FreeNAS with a view to seeing 9.1 more suited to modern networks out of the box.

From this bug Jeremy Allison says that "max xmit" and "encrypt passwords" are legacy. Both appear in FreeNAS default smb.conf.

I'd like to see "max protocol = SMB2" included by default in FreeNAS 9.1. I'd also like to see "._*" and ".DS_Store" added to the list of "veto files" for shares. Extremely annoying when Macs spew crap on your shares.

As everything since Windows 2000 supports using DNS for name resolution instead of NetBIOS perhaps NetBIOS could default to disabled and be hidden behind an advanced button?

Not directly related to Samba, but an annoyance for me is Avahi's service entry for SMB. It's got a honking big "CIFS Shares on %h" where other service entries just use "%h" to advertise the hostname. Please, please, please get rid of the "CIFS Shares on " bit. The client computer already knows what the service is from the service type.

Anyway, those are just a few of my thoughts. Would be interested in others' opinions and suggestions for a modern config. Might be good to reach out the Samba developers and see what they suggest for a modern default config.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I'd like to preface my post by saying i'm no developer and don't understand half the Samba config options so may be talking out my ass here.

No offense, but as soon as I saw this I knew you would. FreeBSD isn't "simple" so most everyone finds they are talking out of their ass and don't even know it. My first few posts are embarassing, so don't go looking :)