Daily powering on and off, upgrade, and encrypt question.

Kennee

Dabbler
New Guy here.
I'm a photographer and was looking for a way to look over my archive images without unplug my external harddrive and pluging another one in.
To make a long story short. I use a older computer to run freeNAS. But cool thing about this computer case is it's a Cooler Master HAF Stacker 935 case that can hold up to 19 harddrive. Right now I have 4-10TB harddrive running in it now. 2-10tb drives stripe and other two 10TB mirror, with all data backup on external drives.
The plans is to add drives as I need them. So here are some questions I have.

1. I don't need my freeNAS computer running 24-7. So is it okay to turn it off daily?
2. Do I need to encrypt the drives? If yes, Can I do it with my data on that drive already.
3. And the last question. Can you add a drive to a strip drives without erasing all your data.

Computer hardware:
CPU: I5-4670K
Memory: 32GB
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-D3HP
16 port sata controller card

Hi @Kennee welcome to the forums! I wrote some thoughts/replies below. Let me know if you have other questions.

1. I don't need my freeNAS computer running 24-7. So is it okay to turn it off daily?
You can turn it off, yes, but it will increase the wear and tear on your drives. The spin up/down cycle is part of what wears them out. Most folks opt to leave theirs on.

2. Do I need to encrypt the drives? If yes, Can I do it with my data on that drive already.
FreeNAS encryption protects data at rest. Meaning when the pool is exported or the system is off your data is protected. If you are not worried about that; then no need to use encryption.

3. And the last question. Can you add a drive to a strip drives without erasing all your data.
Yes, one way to increase the size of a pool is to add another vdev as a strip. Please not, a vdev is NOT a disk. Striping a vdev is not the same as striping a disk. Check out the User Guide for more details.