CIFS Share Permissions Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAKLOGIC

Cadet
Hi guys,

I am relatively new to FreeNAS. I set one up for a customer of mine back in october of last year (2014) that booted off of a usb stick. The reason that I decided to try FreeNAS is that the customer had grown to the point that they had more than the allowed number of computers trying to pull from a non-server windows share. Everything was working fine until the stick died a few days ago and, of course, I forgot to make a backup stick with all of the configuration. So I set up a new instance of FreeNAS 9.3 and re-setup the unauthenticated CIFS share. The customer has 2 locations and thousands of art files need to be moved from one location to the other each day. I came up with the idea to facilitate this through dropbox. I have an app that I made in MS Access that watches the dropbox folder and moves any files it detects to the FreeNAS CIFS share which is being used as a storage repository for all of the files.

Now here is my issue. Sometimes, the files that are being sent through dropbox already exist in the FreeNAS share. The MS Access app that I made handles this by just replacing them. (Like the windows dialog that asks if you want to replace, rename, or not move the file.) I can move a file manually from dropbox to the FreeNAS share and it will let me overwrite (replace) it, but if the MS Access app comes across a file that already exists in the destination, it will crash with a "permission denied" error. I have tried it on multiple computers and it has the same result: I can overwrite (replace) files manually, but the MS Access app will fail if it comes to a file that already exists in the destination. This is in a non-server (No Active Directory) shop with all windows computers.