Building my first TrueNAS system...

strauss2

Cadet
I am also looking at building an am5 system as well. Have you had a chance to test if the GPU in the 7900 is working in truenas scale? I am hoping to use it for jellyfin transcodes. I know that on the x570d4u and the 5650G pro CPU, hardware transcoding works, but I have not seen many other am5 builds yet on the forum. Thanks!

jorisvervuurt

Dabbler
I am also looking at building an am5 system as well. Have you had a chance to test if the GPU in the 7900 is working in truenas scale? I am hoping to use it for jellyfin transcodes. I know that on the x570d4u and the 5650G pro CPU, hardware transcoding works, but I have not seen many other am5 builds yet on the forum. Thanks!
I don’t personally use transcoding, but I did see the AMD iGPU in the dropdown for isolated GPU (not sure what that means / how that works; I’m new to TrueNAS). If you tell me how, I’ll test it for you. ;-)

For the other people: the UPS implementation works great; the Back-UPS Pro USB option is listed in the UPS service configuration and everything works great.

wdp

Explorer
Ran some initial tests with the UPS under Ubuntu; it was detected immediately without any changes to the system, so I’m hopeful it’ll work out of the box. :) The system idles at 40W power consumption, full load (using the `stress` tool) it peaks at 141W. The old Synology NAS idled at 30W, so it’s not even that much more. :)
Any update on your build? I have been eyeing a 7900 for some time. Hoping some alternate motherboard skus come to surface.

jorisvervuurt

Dabbler
Still very happy with the build. TrueNAS Scale has been running great without any issues.

I did change two things:
- Replaced the network card with an LR-Link LRES1016PF-SFP+ PCIe 2.0 x4 10Gb network card with a single SFP+ port (Intel 82599 chipset) since I wanted to connect it using a DAC cable for reduced power consumption and latency compared to RJ45