Beta 8.3 CIFS & Symantec Backup Exec 2012

Status
Not open for further replies.

kkwoodbrey

Dabbler
I am new to FreeNAS and not sure where to post for Beta input. I am in the process of building a backup storage system to use with Symantec Backup Exec 2012. My hardware is a Supermicro SuperStorage Server 6047R-E1R36N. I am running the 64bit, 8.3 Beta. I have set up a RAIDZ level 2 volume with a CIFS share. When Backup Exec has copied anywhere from 5 to 80GB of data, the CIFS share becomes unavailable and the FreeNAS web interface becomes unresponsive. The command line terminal interface remains active.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I'd highly recommend reading the forum rules and posting with your exact hardware(RAM, CPU, hard drive etc).

kkwoodbrey

Dabbler
Chassis: Supermicro CSE-847E16-R1K28LPB
Motherboard: Supermicro X9DRi-LN4F+ (Intel chipset C602)
CPU: Dual Xeon E5-2603
Memory: 6x 8GB Crucial Technology CT3CP102472BB1067 DDR3 PC3-8500 CL=7 Registered ECC DDR3-1066
SATA/SAS HBA: LSI Logic Controller Card SAS 9207-8I
Ethernet Adapters: 4x Onboard Intel i350 Gigabit (Only one in use for testing)
Hard Drive: 10x Western Digital 2TB WD20EARS-00J2GB0 SATA 64MB Cache
OS/APP: FreeNAS-8.3.0-BETA1-r12067-x64.iso

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Thanks for the info!

First: I'd try running 8.2. Betas are usually pretty stable, but I never run them except for testing. In your case, since you are having problems I'd try 8.2 before trying to spend time "fixing" the issue.

Second: Have you run any diagnostics on your hard drives? If one of them starts having problems it can result in bizarre performance and reliability isssues. I have WD20EARS running with no problems so I know the drives should work fine.

You can try using iozone to see how your io is going on your pool. If one drive seems to be lagging behind the rest that may be a problem.