Best Recommendations for FreeNAS with Apple Xserve

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Fellow Members,
My name is Justin and I am somewhat new to FreeNAS

I was wondering if anybody could tell me the best way to go about my storage needs.
I am currently using a drobo and it seems too slow for my liking.

I have a rather big media collection and need some serious storage to keep it up and running, In my media closet i have a 2009 Xserve and what i am curious about is what you fellow members think would be the best implementation of FreeNAS for me to serve up content to my house.

My idea is to build a system (recommendation on parts is needed) that can house about 8 x2TB drives in a some sort of raid(need recommendation on which raid would be best) install a 2 or 4 port gigE card on it and use link aggregation with iScsi and connect it to a similar card in the Xserve which would in theory give me a fast connection from there the media will be streamed out by the xserve

but what i really need help with is which raid would be best for a storage array that will be receiving backups and sending out content

survive

Behold the Wumpus
Hi JustinOReilly,

You should be just fine using raidz2 for an 8 drive server.

A couple of questions:

What are you streaming to? You might want to check and see if any of the default plug-ins (for 8.2) or 8.0.4-MULTIMEDIA will work for you. With any luck you might be able to simplify things and stream directly from FreeNAS. Either way, unless you are streaming a *ton* of data a single gig-e connection should be just fine between the Xserver & the filer.

I can throw together a parts list for an 8 drive system that I would want to use if you like.

-Will

Hi JustinOReilly,

You should be just fine using raidz2 for an 8 drive server.

A couple of questions: