Backing up to Amazon Glacier

Status
Not open for further replies.

amlamarra

Explorer
So I'm still pretty new to FreeNAS and started doing some research on off-site backups. I'd love to use Amazon Glacier as I won't need access to my backups very often (hopefully never). I've never used any Amazon AWS services and I'm not sure if I could just use a guide on backing up my snapshots to S3. Would it be the same? Could I just set it up by using the FreeNAS GUI and going to Storage > Replication Tasks? If not, are there any guides on doing this via the cli?

Edit: After continuing my research, it seems I might not be able to use the GUI. I'll need to use a program/script to upload my snapshots. I'm familiar with Python and found the boto3 module. I can write something on my own, but is anyone aware of anything that someone else has already created for this type of task?

Last edited:

garm

Wizard
I think you need to set up a jail and run something like duplicity. But I haven’t put anything like that in production.

styno

Patron
As I understood a backup to S3 compatible cloud providers will be available in 11.1

Mlovelace

Guru
Edit: After continuing my research, it seems I might not be able to use the GUI. I'll need to use a program/script to upload my snapshots. I'm familiar with Python and found the boto3 module. I can write something on my own, but is anyone aware of anything that someone else has already created for this type of task?
I use rclone in a jail to push backups into cloud storage. It's available in the freebsd ports so you can just "pkg install" it. http://www.freshports.org/net/rclone/

https://rclone.org/ for more information.

Bizquick

Explorer
I'm looking to use the S3 service to backup to Glacier anyway to do that? or any steps for that?

styno

Patron
I'm looking to use the S3 service to backup to Glacier anyway to do that? or any steps for that?