Arc Hit Ratio is at 100%?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
yes it was, thank you for all that information. when i used to be a system engineer i used NetAPP filers so i never had to worry about hitting the limits , it just worked and worked beautifully. but that was a FAS6040 (with 10gigE) ...
but now that i am using horrible hardware i never thought that iSCSI would be hit that hard and perform this badly .. sigh, need to rethink my plans and approach now that i have to work with less than idle hardware.

Really, anyone coming from a WAFL environment ought to be able to cope ... NetApp is the poster child for poor performance due to its CoW implementation. You remediate through adding more spindles, cache, etc., adjusting the filer's design to accommodate the workload.

For example, for the new VM storage box we're building here, we need kinda decent write performance and we want very good read performance, so I've started out with a 64GB box with 256GB L2ARC and then am adding three-wide mirror vdevs to it. The chassis has 24 2.5" bays so with 7 2TB vdevs, that's a 14TB pool and three warm spares. You don't want to heavily use a ZFS pool doing SAN storage, so that's maybe 5-7TB usable space. But I'm fully aware I might need to boost to 128GB of RAM to get the sort of performance I want. With three disks in each vdev, though, even random reads should be fairly awesome.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
and to increase that, i would need to add more drives/memory? or just memory?

Get rid of the RAIDZ1 and go with mirrored vdevs. Also make sure you've picked a reasonable blocksize, otherwise ZFS will be hurting. Then add more memory. Memory is probably hurting you less than the RAIDZ1, but your setup is all kinds of "bring on the pain."

yes it is, it starts really fast .. i think i saw the first 2 seconds hit 950MByte/sec then start slowing down.... 10 seconds later it goes down to 12MByte/sec and stays there :( so frustrating.