Get a Quote   (408) 943-4100               TrueNAS Discord      VendOp_Icon_15x15px   Commercial Support Toggle between Light and Dark mode

Snapshots Screens

  3 minute read.

Last Modified 2022-07-29 13:23 EDT

Use the Snapshots screen to manage existing snapshots or to add new snapshots. To access the Snapshots screen, from the Storage screen, click the Snapshots button in the top right of the screen and select Snapshots.

If you don’t have snapshots created, the Snapshots screen displays the Add Snapshots option in the center of the screen.

SnapshotScreenAddFirstSnapshot

If you have existing snapshots set up they display in the list on this screen.

SnapshotsScreen

Click the settings icon to display the Show Extra Columns dialog displays.

ShowExtraColumnsDialog

Click Show to add the Used, Data Created and Referenced columns to the list of snapshots. These columns add the space used (Used), the snapshot creation date, and the amount of data the dataset can access (Referenced).

Click the settings icon again to view the Hide Extra Columns dialog. Click Hide to return to the default view with only the Dataset and Snapshot columns displayed.

Snapshot Details Screen

Click expand_more to view snapshot details an additional options availabe for each snapshot. To view the options for the listed snapshots, click the expand_more icon to expand the snapshot and display the options for managing that snapshot.

SnapshotScreenExpandedSnapshot

SettingIconDescription
DeleteDisplays a delete confirmation dialog. Select Confirm to activate the DELETE* button.
Clone to New DatasetDisplays the Clone to New Dataset screen.
RollbackDisplays the Dataset Rollback From Snapshot dialog.

Dataset Rollback from Snapshot Dialog

WARNING: Rolling the dataset back destroys data on the dataset and can destroy additional snapshots that are related to the dataset. This can result in permanent data loss! Do not roll back until all desired data and snapshots are backed up.

DatasetRollbackFromSnapshot

SettingDescription
Stop Roolback if Snapshot ExistsSelect radio button for the rollback action safety level for the selected snapshot. Select the radio button that best fits. When the safety check finds additional snapshots that are directly related to the dataset being rolled back it cancels the rollback.
Newer intermeidate, Child, and cloneSelect to stop rollback when the safety check finds any related intermediate, child dataset, or clone snapshots that are newer than the rollback snapshots.
Newer CloneSelect to stop rollback when the safety check finds any related clone snapshots that are newer than the rollback snapshot.
No Safety Check (CAUTION)Select to stop rollback if snapshot exists. The rollback destroys any related intermediate, child dataset, and cloned snapshots that are newer than the rollback snapshot.
ConfirmSelect to confirm the selection and activate the ROLLBACK button.

Add Snapshot Screen

Click either Add Snapshots or ADD at the top right of the screen to display the Add Snapshot screen.

AddSnapshotScreen

SettingDescription
DatasetSelect the dataset or zvol from the dropdown list. The snapshot created is from this dataset or zvol.
NameTrueNAS populates this with a name but you can override the name with any string of your choice. You cannot use Name and Naming Schema for the same snapshot.
Naming SchemaSelect an option from the dropdown list or leave this blank to use the name the system or you entered in Name. This generates a name for the snapshot using the naming schema from a previously-entered periodic snapshot. This allows the snapshot to be replicated. You cannot use Naming Schema with Name. Selecting a schema option overwrites the value in Name.
RecursiveSelect to include child datasets or zvols in the snapshot.

Use Save to retain the settings and return to the Snapshots screen.

Related Content