Get a Quote   (408) 943-4100               TrueNAS Discord      VendOp_Icon_15x15px   Commercial Support Toggle between Light and Dark mode

Wiping a Disk

  2 minute read.

Last Modified 2022-07-19 13:53 EDT

The disk wipe option deletes obsolete data from an unused disk.

Wipe is a destructive action and results in permanent data loss! Back up any critical data before wiping a disk.

TrueNAS only shows the Wipe option for unused disks.

Ensure you have backed-up all data and are no longer using the disk. Triple check that you have selected the correct disk for the wipe. Recovering data from a wiped disk is usually impossible.

Click Wipe to open a dialog with additional options:

  • Quick erases only the partitioning information on a disk without clearing other old data, making it easy to reuse. Quick wipes take only a few seconds.
  • Full with zeros oerwrites the entire disk with zeros and can take several hours to complete.
  • Full with random overwrites the entire disk with random binary code and takes even longer than the Full with zeros operation to complete.

After selecting the appropriate method, click Wipe and confirm the action.

WipeDiskSCALE

Verify the name to ensure you have chosen the correct disk. When satisfied you can wipe the disk, set Confirm and click Continue.

Related Content

Related Storage Articles