Get a Quote   (408) 943-4100               TrueNAS Discord      VendOp_Icon_15x15px   Commercial Support Toggle between Light and Dark mode

Snapshots Screens

  3 minute read.

Last Modified 2022-05-12 10:39 EDT

Use the Storage > Snapshots screens to create and manage snapshots on your TrueNAS.

StorageSnapshotsScreen

Use the to display the Show Extra Columns dialog, and after clickng SHOW, the Snapshot screen changes to dipslay the blue COLUMNS button with options to modify the table information. It also changes the individual snapshots listed to show the individual snapshot action options from the more_vert rather than the navigate_next expand symbol that, after clicking on it, expands the selected snapshot to show details with the action options on the bottom of the expanded view of the snapshot. To return to the previous display click the to display the Hide Extra Columns dialog, and after clickng HIDE, the blue COLUMNS button no longer displays and the list of snapshots displays the navigate_next expand symbol.

Use ADD to display the Snapshot > Add screen.

Snapshot Add Screen

AddSnapShotScreen

SettingDescription
DatasetSelect a dataset or zvol from the dropdown list to use as the storage location for snapshots.
NameEnter a unique name. This cannot be used with the value in Naming Schema
Naming Schema
RecursiveSelect to include child datasets of the selected dataset.

Use SUBMIT to save settings. Use CANCEL to exit without saving and display the Snapshots screen.

Snapshot Details Screen

The expanded snapshot view includes date created, space used, and the amount of data accessible by this dataset.

StorageSnapshoExpandedtInfoScreen

SettingIconDescription
DeletedeleteDisplays a delete confirmation dialog. Select Confirm to activate the DELETE* button.
Clone to New DatasetDisplays the Clone to New Dataset screen.
RollbackrestoreDisplays the Dataset Rollback From Snapshot dialog.

Dataset Rollback from Snapshot Dialog

WARNING: Rolling the dataset back destroys data on the dataset and can destroy additional snapshots that are related to the dataset. This can result in permanent data loss! Do not roll back until all desired data and snapshots are backed up.

DatasetRollbackFromSnapshot

SettingDescription
Stop Roolback if Snapshot ExistsSelect the safety level for the rollback action. Select the radio button that best fits. Rollback is cancelled when the safety check finds additional snapshots that are directly related to the dataset being rolled back.
Newer intermeidate, Child, and cloneSelect to stop rollback when the safety check finds any related intermediate, child dataset, or clone snapshots that are newer than the rollback snapshots.
Newer CloneSelect to stop rollbck when the safety check finds any related clone snapshots that are newer than the rollback snapshot.
No Safety Check (CAUTION)Select to stop rollback if snapshot exists. The rollback destroys any related intermediate, child dataset, and cloned snapshots that are newer than the rollback snapshot.
ConfirmSelect to confirm the selection and activate the ROLLBACK button.

See Creating Snapshots for more information on creating and managing snapshots.