(408) 943-4100               V   Commercial Support Toggle between Light and Dark mode

Wipe

  2 minute read.

Last Modified 2021-04-01 15:14 EDT

The wipe function deletes obsolete data off an unused disk.

This is a destructive action and results in permanent data loss! Back up any critical data off the disk to be wiped.

To wipe a disk, go to Storage > Disks. Click the for a disk to see all the options.

StorageDisksExpand

The WIPE option is only available when the disk is not in use. Click WIPE to open a dialog with additional options:

StorageDisksWipeMethod

The disk Name (da1, da2, ada4) helps confirm that you have selected the right disk to wipe

The Method dropdown shows the different available wipe options available:

Erases only the partitioning information on a disk, making it easy to reuse but without clearing other old data. Quick wipes take only a few seconds.
Overwrites the entire disk with zeros and can take several hours to complete.
Overwrites the entire disk with random binary code and takes even longer than Full with zeros to complete.
Ensure all data is backed up and the disk is no longer in use. Triple check that the correct disk is selected for the wipe. Recovering data from a wiped disk is usually impossible.

After choosing the appropriate method, click WIPE. A dialog asks for confirmation of the action.

StorageDisksWipeConfirm

Verify the name to ensure you have the correct disk chosen. When satisfied the disk can be wiped, set Confirm and click CONTINUE. A dialog shows the wipe progress.