Get a Quote     (408) 943-4100               TrueNAS Discord      VendOp_Icon_15x15px   Commercial Support Toggle between Light and Dark mode

Changing the Default Shell

  1 minute read.

Last Modified 2022-09-21 13:27 EDT

The default shell for a new installations is zsh.

You can change the default shell in Accounts > Users.

  1. Click for the root user and click Edit.


  2. Choose the desired shell from the Shell dropdown list and click SAVE.

For more information on the web shell see Shell

For more information on using the keyboard and CLI commands in the Shell see Using Shell

Related Content

Have more questions or want to discuss your specific configuration? For further discussion or assistance, see these resources:

Found content that needs an update? You can suggest content changes directly! To request changes to this content, click the Feedback button.