Wedding Next Weekend - Can't Access Photos

Status
Not open for further replies.

_Will_

Explorer
Hi Everyone,

My wedding is coming up on 10/28 and I need to access some files on my NAS.

I setup my FreeNAS box several years back and everything worked fine until now. My box accidentally got powered down and once I powered it back on I'm no longer able to access the box via windows. I searched on the forums to try and figure out the issue and it seems I need to ensure that the CIFS window share is operating correctly. I tried to delete my original share and create a new one, however, I'm getting the error "The service could not be started."

I'm a novice computer user and am in over my head and am just trying to figure out how I can get access again via windows so my fiance doesn't kill me BEFORE the wedding.

If anyone could help walk me through some troubleshooting, it would be much appreciated.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi Everyone,

My wedding is coming up on 10/28 and I need to access some files on my NAS.

I setup my FreeNAS box several years back and everything worked fine until now. My box accidentally got powered down and once I powered it back on I'm no longer able to access the box via windows. I searched on the forums to try and figure out the issue and it seems I need to ensure that the CIFS window share is operating correctly. I tried to delete my original share and create a new one, however, I'm getting the error "The service could not be started."

I'm a novice computer user and am in over my head and am just trying to figure out how I can get access again via windows so my fiance doesn't kill me BEFORE the wedding.

If anyone could help walk me through some troubleshooting, it would be much appreciated.

PM me a debug. "System"->"Advanced"->"Save Debug". Don't make any hasty changes to the server.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems