Update from 11.1 to 11.2

jmyrtle

Cadet
Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to FreeNAS, and I was curious to know how to upgrade from FreeNAS 11.1 to 11.2?

kdragon75

Wizard
Welcome to the forum! you will be happy to know that we have a comprehensive user guide that covers this information.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
I was curious to know how to upgrade from FreeNAS 11.1 to 11.2?
Wait until 11.2 is at release. It is currently still in beta with the first release candidate made available a couple days ago. There are still bugs to be worked out and that's best left to those that choose to test.

jmyrtle

Cadet
Okay. So it's been 2 months now and I see that FreeNAS 11.2 is the current stable release with a new WUI (Web User Interface).
Is it safe for me to upgrade my current system from 11.1 and if so, how do I do it?

Jailer

Not strong, but bad

danb35

Hall of Famer
On "how do I do it", the answer is the same as @kdragon75 gave you two months ago--read the manual. On "is it safe", I haven't seen many reports of significant problems with 11.2, but read the forums and draw your own conclusions.

Downloaded 11.2 (link in user guide (https://download.freenas.org/latest/) doesn't work) and used RUFUS to create a bootable USB stick. However, what I wound up with is a GPT, even though I asked for MBR/BIOS. A friend had the same experience. Created other bootable USBs from .isos with no problems, so the problem appears to be related to the FreeNAS download (FreeNAS-11.2-RELEASE-U1.iso). What am I missing?

danb35

Hall of Famer
If you're upgrading, which is what this thread is asking about, why are you downloading the ISO? If you do need to use the ISO for some reason, Rufus hasn't been working well lately--I'd suggest Etcher instead.

From : https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/freenas/11.2/install.html#upgrading
2.5. Upgrading

FreeNAS® provides flexibility for keeping the operating system up-to-date: