Unable to install plugins

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nil

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm new to FreeNAS but experienced in computers in general.

Previously I ran a Synology DS211J (oldie) and wanted something more beefy so I bought an old DC7800SFF and installed FreeNAS. on the native 160Gb with an extra drive for storage.

I added the extra drive and created a share, which can now be seen from my windows box.

When I try installing plugins I get the 'are you sure' option and on clinking yes the install progress (1/4 etc.) at a certain point (4/4 - Installing plugin) it will flash an error msg and not install the plugin.

Can anybody tell me what's up? or maybe point me toward a log file where I can get a closer look at the error msg?

much appreciated!

P.S.: Tried using search but got no-where

P.P.S.: Upon browsing through the options I found that every plugin I tried installing ended up in a 'jail'

Last edited:
D

dlavigne

at a certain point (4/4 - Installing plugin) it will flash an error msg and not install the plugin.

Post the exact error message and the version of FreeNAS.

Nil

Cadet
This seems to be at the root of my problem, as I cannot get the entire msg, it only shows for a second or so and disappears.

Version of FreeNAS 9.3.0

krikboh

Patron
How much RAM do you have? Googling that model number shows machines with 2 GB RAM. FreeNAS requires 8 GB minimum, more if you plan on using plugins.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nil

Cadet
Yes, I am currently extremely low on RAM (at 3Gb) but am planning on expanding on that very quickly.

ALthough my question remains the same: Where can I find a log file to show me the exact msg of the error?

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Is this a fresh FreeNAS9.3 install?
I know on a test install of FN9.3 I did, plugins wouldn't install until I created a jail dataset (tank/jails for me) then specified this as the "Jail Root" under Jails > Configuration (/mnt/tank/jails in my case).