Unable to install Linux VM

rosede

Dabbler
Hello. I am a TrueNAS newbie, running v13.0-U6.1 on a Dell R520 server.

I am trying to setup some linux virtual machines. I've tried Ubuntu 22.04 and Rocky 9.2.

Ubuntu install's, but once installed, I can't do anything with it. I can get to it via the console, but after entering my credentials, I can't click on anything, nor use the keyboard. The mouse pointer looks like a small x, however, I do see a mouse pointer in the lower right corner. I don't see any settings that are useful. I can't SSH to it nor can I RDP to it. It seems as if it's not fully up.

Rocky won't even install. The installation gets to "Starting Terminate Plymouth Boot Screen....." and then hangs and goes to black screen.

Are there logs somewhere that I can review? Or is there something that I'm missing when installing these machines?

Thanks

Daryl

rosede

Dabbler
I don't see any comments yet. Am I the only one who has problems installing virtual machines? I can't install ANY virtual machine. I've tried Ubuntu 22, Rocky Linux 9.2 as well as a Windows 10. Am I missing something? Am I missing a setting somewhere? The documentation is very minimal and doesn't really provide much direction.

Thanks

rosede

Dabbler
This demo is for Bluefin, but the steps should be very similar for Corbia:
Thank you for this, but I don't see a lot of the options that this guy shows. The first is the display type. I don't have that option when I install a virtual machine. I don't see any of the CPU options that he show's. I only have the choice of number of CPU's, core's and threads. Nothing else. No CPU Model, or any other options. I don't have any GPU options, nor additional driver options. The only device that I have is CDROM. This guy show's a list of devices.

You said this video is for BluFin and I must be using Cobra. Is Cobra limited in option?

Thanks

rosede

Dabbler
I'm using Core. Should I be using Scale in order to have Virtualization?

Thanks