Unable to import UFS volume in new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

duggulous

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to this stuff so any help would be appreciated :)

I am trying to move a volume from an old box running FreeNAS 8.3 to a new box running 9.3. The volume consists of two SATA drives in a mirrored UFS configuration. I plugged the drives into the 9.3 box and started it up, but in the GUI, the dropdown in the "import volumes" window is empty. The individual drives do show up in the GUI under "View Disks"

I then tried to import just a disk, but when selecting the filesystem, it would not allow me to continue when I had UFS selected. Oddly, NTFS would, but when I tried to proceed with that, FreeNAS showed an error (stack trace mentioned django - I think it had to do with the Fuse driver)

I put the drives back in the old box, and they work fine there.

There are almost 3 TB on this volume. I really don't want to try transferring that all over the network. Is there something I can do to get FreeNAS 9.3 to import it?

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Sir:

UFS is not supported as of FreeNAS 9.3.

You would have to go to 9.2.1.x.

duggulous

Cadet
I see. Hmmm, that's unfortunate. Well, maybe I can find another drive and add it to the old box as ZFS, copy the data onto that and then import it into the new box.

Thanks DrKK.

duggulous

Cadet
Unless UFS support was taken out of the kernel without editing the documentation, follow the instructions here http://doc.freenas.org/9.3/freenas_storage.html#import-disk

Thanks Alvin - I tried to import just a disk, but when selecting the filesystem, it would not allow me to continue when I had UFS selected. Oddly, NTFS would, but when I tried to proceed with that, FreeNAS showed an error (stack trace mentioned django - I think it had to do with the Fuse driver)

danb35

Hall of Famer