Trying to remote connect to NUT/UPS master on TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02.2

DavidYLau

Dabbler
Hi, I'm a newbie to NUT.

I have the NUT/UPS service working locally on my TrueNAS-SCALE system. e.g. shell>upsc ups@localhost shows the attached UPS.

Now, I'm trying to get the WinNUT-client on a Windows10 PC to connect to the TrueNAS-SCALE system, but no luck.

WinNUT_no_connect.jpg

On the right-side of the picture, you'll see the TrueNAS UPS configuration. The GUI sections for auxiliary parameters ups.conf & upsd.com are currently both blank.
On the left of the picture is the WinNUT configuration. I can ping the TrueNAS machine from the Windows10 PC. But WinNUT client tries to connect without any success. I have tried both <my_typed_in_password> as well as "fixmepass" (that is mentioned in the Remote Monitor ?hint).

Do I need to add "Listen" or "extra-user" parameters?

Thanks in advance for any help..

Last edited:

Redcoat

MVP

Redcoat

MVP
A dead link?
Hence my leg-pull "Have you?" to @elvisimprsntr . I'd say it's about 7 years or perhaps more since there was any action being reported on the development of a windows version. I had a file on it at one time but I'm guessing that I dumped it when there was no action because I could not find it this evening when I went looking.

I may try what you're working with - I'll report if so.

Redcoat

MVP
I may try what you're working with - I'll report if so.
I could not get it to connect to my Cyberpower UPS on my pfSense box.

DavidYLau

Dabbler
I could not get it to connect to my Cyberpower UPS on my pfSense box.
I got it to work with my TrueNAS-SCALE box.

I did two steps, it's probably the second step.

Step 1: I created an *.ini file since I was wondering if the GUI was broken and then loaded it with FILE>Import.
The file contents were just equivalent to the GUI fill-in boxes:
MONITOR ups@<ip_of_my_TrueNAS_box> 1 upsmon <password> slave
(I doubt this made any difference. )