TrueNAS-Scale Slow SMB speed

leeosx

Cadet
Hi I am new to truenas scale, this afternoon i built my first truenas scale server for storage. I did everything guide tells me but i cant get full speed of 10gbit over lan.
The pool is set to raidz2, 18t X 18 with one cache of 2T nvme ssd
When PC to Truenas i can get about 1G/s for 5 secs then speed will drop to around 400-600mpbs
When Truenas to PC i can get about 250m/s - 400m/s all the time.

If i set nvme hard drive standalone, and share it over smb, i can get result of
Truenas > PC 1g/s
PC > Truenas 800m/s.

So I am wondering is there any setup that I messed up leads to this very slow speed.

thanks

leeosx

Cadet
Hi I am new to truenas scale, this afternoon i built my first truenas scale server for storage. I did everything guide tells me but i cant get full speed of 10gbit over lan.
The pool is set to raidz2, 18t X 18 with one cache of 2T nvme ssd
When PC to Truenas i can get about 1G/s for 5 secs then speed will drop to around 400-600mpbs
When Truenas to PC i can get about 250m/s - 400m/s all the time.

If i set nvme hard drive standalone, and share it over smb, i can get result of
Truenas > PC 1g/s
PC > Truenas 800m/s.

So I am wondering is there any setup that I messed up leads to this very slow speed.

thanks
One more thing it wierd here,

Raidz3 tells me it's always the storage of n-3, but when i create my raidz3 with 18 18ts, it's n-5. is this normal?

leeosx

Cadet
When i set 18t x18 as stripe, read can hit 1g/s
but write is unstabe, from 400m - 750m/s

nimuie

Dabbler
Heya! Do you have any news on your post? I am facing the same issues essentially - writing to mirrored SSD on TrueNAS Scale my 10GbE connection only delivers half the speed

netspear.io

Dabbler
Also having issues, have a 1gb card installed and a 2.5gb in my computer,
running a direct line from computer to truenas scale, not through any switches or anything like that, and I'm only getting 200mbps, most of time its only around 100.