TrueNAS Core latest update constantly crashes on HP EliteDesktop

jinlsui

Dabbler
I have been running a home NAS with FreeNAS/TrueNAS for more than 5 years. But recently, I have experienced constant crashes with the recent TrueNAS Core update (13-U6.1), probably starting from an earlier release. It crashed every few hours on a NAS built on HP EliteDesk 800 G2 mini (i5-5600T with 16GB RAM, RAM passed bios check). I managed to install it (13-U6.1) on another HP EliteDesk 800 G2 SFF (i5-5600, 32 GB RAM, passed bio check), and it happened again. Out of curiosity, I installed the older version (13-U2.0) on both of them, and they have been running for over a day now without crashing.

I do have another built with 13-U6.1 on another PC with i3 on a non-brand desktop body, and it runs well. I will test further on the HP EliteDesk with TrueNAS releases between U2 and U6 to see exactly where it started. I wonder if this is a reported known issue and if there are ways to get around it.

oxyde

Contributor
Hi, i have experienced something similar to you after the update from prevoius version to last one during long file transfer via SMB... System crash and rebooting without log anything.
In my case, was related to onboard Realtek LAN driver, changed to an Intel dedicated NIC fix everything.
Maybe you can try to find something in the log
cat /var/log/messages.
As was suggested to me

jinlsui

Dabbler
Hi, thanks for sharing your experiences. I read somewhere in the community that sometimes the NIC plays a critical role in system stability. I just hope that I do not have to that route. On the one hand, this mini PC has no room for any added NIC card; on the other hand, this unit has been working reliably with me with earlier TrueNAS and FrenNAS releases for quite some years. If the newer releases make it unreliable, it should be considered as some kind of bug and therefore should be fixed, if NIC is identified as the cause of it.

oxyde

Contributor