This version of ownCloud requires at least PHP 5.6.0 (updating owncloud)

subri

Cadet
Hey guys still pretty new at this but I updated my owncloud and now whenever I access the service it says:
This version of ownCloud requires at least PHP 5.6.0
You are currently running PHP 5.5.16. Please update your PHP version.
I have the system set up in my own computer running FreeNas so I don’t know how to update the PHP to get this thing to work. any suggestions?
Thanks let me know if you need anymore info about my system but I may need help finding it because again I am a noob.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
When you say "I updated my owncloud", what exactly did you do to update it? Did you use some kind of updating mechanism in the plugin menu? (I never use plugins, so I don't know).

subri

Cadet
I'm using free nas 11.2 now. I updated owncloud through owncloud. At the top of the page it said an update is available so I clicked it. It updated and all hell broke loose

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Yeah. I don't know what to tell you, but any button like that would probably be for Linux etc. Updating Owncloud should be done through whatever package system is relevant to the install when you're on a FreeBSD.

I wouldn't even begin to know where to tell you to begin disentangling whatever is now screwed up.

Is the Owncloud version you have one that you installed with a FreeNAS plugin? Or did you install with some other method?

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Typically speaking, (and I don't know if this is in the documentation or not), one updates the FreeNAS plugins as the plugins themselves are updated by the FreeNAS people. i.e., if there's an update, you see it in the plug-ins menu.

Things work a little differently on FreeBSD than Linux or Windows, and often, the self-updaters in software do not necessary do what they're supposed to do on FreeBSD (and hence, FreeNAS).