System Keeps crashing, rebooting

DasGoG

Dabbler
Hello!

So I am new to troubleshooting HD etc through TrueNAS.

Motherboard - AsRock Rack X470D4U
Memory - 2 x 8 Gig Crucial NON-ECC
I have 1 x 16 Gig ECC but MB won’t even try to
boot (another story)
HD - 5 x 4 Gig Seagate NAS 5400 RPM Ironwolf
Onboard SATA usage
750 Watt PSU
Ryzen 5 3600 CPU
Onboard Video

It happens at random.... 4 days fine then bam reboots like several times. Then maybe a day. It’s all random.
I’ve had to reinstall/format cause of the destruction it caused. Lost the data. I disabled SMART (temp) and it stays up 100% no issues never a flaw in any of the data. Not saying it’s the fix, just saying, I haven’t lost data since.
My question is, I just don’t understand how to look at the errors or what commands to bring up the errors or how to troubleshoot.
Are there any good steps to doing troubleshooting steps 1 and so on?

ThreeDee

Guru
Have you popped the CMOS battery out to clear/reset BIOS?
What BIOS and BMC versions are you running? I'd recommend updating to the 3.50 BIOS and 2.20 BMC if you are not already. You can update BIOS via IPMI.
If you are not up to date, after updating .. then try your ECC RAM in slot A1 (2nd slot up from CPU per the manual)
What speed is your memory running at?
How are your temps? Any jails installed and if so what are they?

I had an initial RAM detection issue on my motherboard .. I purchased to identical sticks and one didn't work so I purchased another kit. While waiting for the new kit, I thought I'd at least get TrueNAS installed with the one 16gb "good" stick .. updated the BIOS to 3.50 and IPMI to 2.20 and installed TrueNAS .. on a whim, I tried my "dead" stick and it automagically was working now after many reseats and trying in different slots and system not booting when that particular stick was installed with the other stick or by itself ... I was flabbergasted.