Slow CIFS Performance on Freenas 9.2.1.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

CloudAtlas

Cadet
Hey guys, first off I want to thank all of you for the great community support you provide over here. I'm experiencing super slow "a little over 1MB" CIFS transfer speeds on a new machine I have recently built. This is my third FREENAS box I have built so I'm not a complete noob but I'm still learning. The FreeNAS server is being accessed by 8 Windows 7 machines and all of them are experiencing slow data transfer speeds.

Hardware:
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Motherboard: Supermicro Motherboard Ultra ATX DDR3 1600 LGA 1150 MBD-X10SLM-F-O
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz PC3 12800 ECC Kingston ValueRAM
Storage: 2X Western Digital Red 1TB SATA III 64MB Cache

Setup:
Version: FreeNAS-9.2.1.5-RELEASE-x64 (80c1d35)
Storage: Mirror 2 Disk SATA
Compression: 1.27x

CIFS Settings:

NetBIOS name: Cloud
Workgroup: Workgroup
DOS charset: CP437
UNIX charset: UTF-8
Log Level Minimum
Local Master: Checked
Time Server for Domain: Checked
Support DOS File Attributes: Checked
Unix Extensions: Checked
Zeroconf share discovery: Checked
Server maximum protocol: SMB3
Allow execute always: Checked
Everything else I left blank

Notes:
Bug #4874 was giving me a problem for the past couples of days. I have applied the patch but it didn't fix my problem of CIFS not starting. I was able to get around the bug by adding a Post Init script "/usr/local/sbin/smbd" to start samba after it fails on boot up. FYI the slow transfer speeds were in affect before this bug affected me.

Questions:

1. Under network interfaces, currently the server is hooked up under NIC called em0. I have an option to add a second interface called igb0. Should I be using one over the other or there is no difference ?

Summary: