Plex Problems and Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

varcal

Explorer
i am new to freenas

I am trying to get my plex to work and i have nothinging but problems i followed the on line on installing it
i had it working great the first time i installed then my plex stoped working i could not get it to work so i reset my freenas 11 to factory and reinstall the plug in and set every thing back up and know it will not show my media i can see the folder in plex the files are there in jails i face the source foing to /mnt/Data/plex-media that is where i have every thing and the destination i have it going to /var/db/plexdata/Plex Media Server the only thing that shows up is photo's music and video do not display

also my remote access in plex dose not work i have my router set-up right but plex says

Not available outside your network
Your server is signed in to Plex, but is not reachable from outside your network. Learn more

how can i fix that

nojohnny101

Wizard
If you post questions on here and ask for help, try to be as descriptive as possible. Also, at a minimum, you should list full hardware specs and specific freenas version. I'm going to type the information making some assumptions since you didn't provide near enough information on what you have already done and what troubleshooting steps you have already taken.

Plex not seeing your storage is likely a permissions issue. Doing a search will point you in the right direction and will get you to an answer faster then me typing it out. Hint: ensure you have a matching user on the freenas side (plex user and plex group) that has at very least read capability (read/write if you use the DVR function).

As far as plex not being reachable. That is most definitely a networking issue. Again you can google this as this is a common problem but some things to check:
- make sure plex has a static IP
- make sure you have proper forwarding rules on your router tied to plex's ip (32400 I believe)