Plex Permissions

mrtepes2

Cadet
Hi Everyone,

Another newbie here and am hoping I am missing something really simple. I am unable to get Plex to recognize any files. Below is what I have done and verified based on other forum posts I was able to find. Massive wall of text and images incoming; I have been at this for a while.

1. Set up all my media folders in TrueNas. The only one that I will be focusing on here is Pictures since I am trying to see a photo file, but I tested this with Mp4 files in the TV folder and had the same unfortunate result.
media pools.png

2. Created a user for Plex in group plex with a UID and GID of 972.
user 972.png

group 972.png

3. Added permissions to the media folders to make Plex the owner of everything. When this did not work, I updated access permissions to everyone, so you will see both of them in this image. I attached an image of Main Data here, but the permissions for all folders under it were configured the same way.
main data permissions.png

4. Changed the mounting points of the Plex plugin.
mount points.png

5. Added the file into the Pictures folder via Windows Explorer. I also tried the file in just the Media folder as well, but this did not change anything.
file in windows.png

6. Verified the folder permissions using the main shell.
plex owner main data media and pictures.png

7. Verified the file permissions in the main shell.
plex owner of picture.png

8. Verified the folder permissions in the jail shell. I did note that the owner was "plex" instead of "Plex" here. I did not create a plex user; only Plex. I would think this would still work since the group is plex. I also noted that I could not see the file here within the Pictures folder. I don't know if this is expected behavior or not.
plex owner media and picture.png

9. Verified that the Photos folder in Plex is set to the same media folder I specified in the mount point.
plex photo folder.png

plex folder path.png