Need some feedback on dataset and share permissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kalli

Cadet
Hello,

I would like to state that I have been lurking on this forum for quite some time and this is my first time posting here (yay!). I think this says a lot on how helpful this community is and how easy it is to find what you need in these forums. I have scoured the forums for days now and it was very educating for me, but I did find some misleading information which made me confused on the following considerations, hence this post.

I am tech savvy and I have been using FreeNAS for a couple of years now and I've learned to grasp the ZFS concepts, such as datasets 'on the job'. I believe I am not an expert in this, but I do have a general understanding to revisit some decisions I took in the past and cater for them in a better way to suit the current setup I have. More info below:

My current Freenas setup:
version: FreeNAS-11.0-U2
6 HDDs of 4Tb
Running on a i3-4330 CPU with 16 Gb

current storage:
1 pool of disks with the main dataset (zpool) broken down in different 'sub' datasets:
Media (My DVD collection initially, but became the go to dataset to add everything involving shares such as Backups, Downloads, Photo collection and Home videos)
jails (the default jails dataset)

jails:
Plex Media Server which is using the Media dataset as storage
Other custom jails that equally use the Media dataset as storage to manage backups, access my pictures and the like

Media dataset being shared thru SMB to access it with Windows clients only (this is a problem because I have multiple Mac devices on the network now too, which the current SMB setup isn't configured for)

User management - No AD involved

The setup i have in mind:
under zpool (owner: root group: wheel, Permission Type: Unix - 775):
Media (owner: media group: media, Permission Type: Windows) - DVD collection only