My first NAS parts (starting again from scratch)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wipi

Cadet
Hello, I'm new to the NAS world after two consecutive power surges that took out my PSU three months ago. I started looking for a UPS and somehow found some NAS videos which got me hooked.

I wasted a lot of time learning based on my own experience with consumer and enthusiast hardware until I found cyberjock recommended hardware posts... and guess what... they were truly highly recommended... I almost bought an Asus board before finding it.

Many users recommend the ASRock Rack C2750D4I ($460) but for that money I prefer to have something with better performance. The ASRock D1521D4I ($460) is an interesting choice but with an old Broadwell Xeon D-1521. Later I found the ASRock E3C236D2I and I'm happy with that. I also found the ASRock C236 WSI that was missing some management features but I added it to my comparison.

I did my own comparison (2.9MB very large image) with these three motherboards because ASRock website doesn't offer comparison. Here are the parts:
Code:
CASE	  $45	 Fractal Design Node 304
CPU	   $200	Intel Xeon E3-1225 v5
MOBO	  $261	ASRock Rack Motherboard E3C236D2I
RAM	   -		   -
HBA	   $91	 LSI Logic SAS9211-8I 8PORT Int 6GB Sata+sas Pcie 2.0
HDD	   -		   -
SSD	   -		   -
PSU	   $170	Seasonic 750W 80 PLUS Titanium ATX12V Power Supply with Active PFC F3 (SSR-750TD)
---------------
SUM:	  $767+

CPU+MOBO cost $460 almost the same price of a single ASRock C2750D4I... basically a win situation... however it maxes out at 32GB RAM vs 64GB for the C2750D4I.

I have some points I need some help with:
1. the Xeon E3-1225v5 isn't listed in the CPU supported list for the motherboard, does it mean there is a chance of incompatability or is it just not tested?
2. Not many ECC memory modules listed in the supported memory list for the motherboard. If I used untested modules will there be issues.

Sometimes stupid thoughts cross my mind: