SOLVED Motherboard LEDs look OK but computer won't turn on

Status
Not open for further replies.

trilepton

Dabbler
This is my first build using X10SLL-F-O and Pentium G3220. I plugged everything in and when I turn on the power supply, I see a solid orange LED and a blinking green LED on the motherboard. According to the manual, both are indicating normal status (AC power is connected and BMC Heartbeat respectively). Now if I try to turn on the power switch on the case, nothing happens.

I removed all peripherals, USB and fan connectors, RAM and hard drives and still not turning on. I even took it out of the case to rule out shorting, removed the CPU 4pin connector leaving only the CPU, CPU fan, and 24pin connector. I tried to power it on using a screwdriver to short the power headers. Still, it doesn't turn on but the LEDs are still on.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
What's the IPMI say? Does it turn on via IPMI or report anything interesting in the SEL?

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Definitely this is odd. The only things that would cause this:
1) Improperly seated CPU
2) Bad motherboard
3) Bad memory/incompatible memory/non ECC memory
4) Voltage supplied out of range.

I'm putting my money on #3. Tell us the precise part/model you used for memory?

I would try pulling the ram and see if it beeps, or put 1 stick of ram in the first slot and go from there. then id reseat the CPU, verify all cables are plugged all the way in, i would deff test it all "out of the box"

trilepton

Dabbler