SOLVED Issue getting LSI 9211-8i card to be recognized on TrueNAS

Bxscig

Cadet
Hi, I am new to all this but have read a lot of threads and couldn’t find much that I could use to solve this issue on this forum.

I am new to TrueNAS and just installed a system with an old PC at the moment and wanted to add more SATA ports. Read that getting a HBA is best compared to the PCI to SATA card so I got one that was supposedly flashed to IT mode already. Review seem to show that if they normally do so it should be but when I installed it onto all the various PCI slots, I couldn’t get it detected.

Using a Gigabyte B560 motherboard with 32GB of RAM.

Tried to run sas2flash and couldn’t get it to see it. Tried a few different other things but couldn’t see it.

Alecmascot

Guru
Is there a bios setting to enable option roms for each of the PCI slots ?

Redcoat

MVP
Welcome to the forums!

Sorry you're having trouble. Flashed or not, HBA card should be picked up and initialized during boot. I suggest you try it in another machine - if still a no-show, likely it's bad and needs to go back to the vendor. Many of us here have had very good experience with The Art of Server - look for his ebay store - should you decide you need a fresh supplier.

Bxscig

Cadet
I checked the BIOs yesterday and didn’t find it but will check again. I maybe was looking in the wrong place. Will try shortly

Bxscig

Cadet
Welcome to the forums!

Sorry you're having trouble. Flashed or not, HBA card should be picked up and initialized during boot. I suggest you try it in another machine - if still a no-show, likely it's bad and needs to go back to the vendor. Many of us here have had very good experience with The Art of Server - look for his ebay store - should you decide you need a fresh supplier.