Hey everyone

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrgerbik

Cadet
I'm a graduate student in physics and in my spare time I've been working on building my first server. It will primarily be used for storing personal files and media.

Hardware
Gigabyte GA-X150M-PRO ECC
Intel G3950
Kingston 16 GB ECC
Seasonic G-450
8x 4 TB WD HDD

I've installed FreeNAS 11 RC as it's the only build that has played nice with my system so far (save for the error pmc: unknown intel cpu during boot) and have been using various guides (thanks UncleFester) to set up and test a configuration that will suit my use. Things have been going relatively smoothly. I'm just trying to figure out how to properly set up shares and permissions as one of the final tasks. I've already referenced many forum posts for help so thanks to all, this looks to be a solid community. I know I'll be needing some help so you'll be hearing from me again soon I'm sure haha.

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
I'm a graduate student in physics and in my spare time I've been working on building my first server. It will primarily be used for storing personal files and media.

Hardware
Gigabyte GA-X150M-PRO ECC
Intel G3950
Kingston 16 GB ECC
Seasonic G-450
8x 4 TB WD HDD

I've installed FreeNAS 11 RC as it's the only build that has played nice with my system so far (save for the error pmc: unknown intel cpu during boot) and have been using various guides (thanks UncleFester) to set up and test a configuration that will suit my use. Things have been going relatively smoothly. I'm just trying to figure out how to properly set up shares and permissions as one of the final tasks. I've already referenced many forum posts for help so thanks to all, this looks to be a solid community. I know I'll be needing some help so you'll be hearing from me again soon I'm sure haha.
Welcome to the forums!

I doff my hat in admiration to anyone smart enough to study graduate-level physics... Impressive!